The Parliament (Oliy Majlis)
State House

Address: 1 Bunyodkor Avenue

100035 Tashkent,


Tel. : (+ 99871) 239 87 07

Fax. : (+ 99871) 239 41 51

Website : http://www.parliament.gov.uz/


Address: 6, Mustaqillik square

100078 Tashkent


Tel. : (+ 99871) 238 26 96


Website : http://www.senat.gov.uz



General Information:

For the first time in the state’s history of Uzbekistan in 2005 we created a bicameral parliament consisting of a professional Senate (upper house) and a Legislative Chamber (lower house, 150 deputies).

The Senate has 100 members including 84 senators indirectly elected by the 14 regions constituting the country, at 6 seats per constituency (the Republic of Karakalpakstan, 12 provinces and the city of Tashkent) and 16 senators appointed by the President of the Republic and chosen from persons experienced in the political, economic, cultural, scientific, etc. Their term of office is 5 years.

Senate President Mr. Ilgizar Sobirov, elected January 26, 2010.

According to the Constitution of Uzbekistan, to be elected to the Legislative Chamber, the candidate must have Uzbek citizenship, reside mainly in Uzbekistan for at least five years and at the age of 25 years before the date of election . Duration of its term is 5 years.

The President of the Legislative Chamber Dilorom Ms. Ishmukhamedova, re-elected Jan. 22, 2010.

Last election:

The first round of parliamentary elections to the Legislative Chamber of Oliy Majlis (Parliament) of the Republic of Uzbekistan was held December 27, 2009 and the second round January 10, 2010.

During the press conference held on January 12, the president of the Central Election Commission Mr. Abdusalomov took stock of the elections. He stressed that they were an important step in the deepening of democratic reforms renovation and modernization. Representatives of national and foreign media, international observers were informed that 15,108,950 voters or 87.8% of the total number of voters registered to vote, voted.

The elections of deputies of the Legislative Chamber of the Parliament were held in accordance with Article 44 of the Law of the Republic of Uzbekistan “On elections to the Oliy Majlis.” In the first round, December 27, 2009, deputies were elected in 96 ridings.

Regardless of the ballot, the Conference of the Ecological Movement (ME), which was attributed to Office 15 seats, elected on the same day 15 deputies by secret ballot. These elected members represent each unit of territorial administration of the Republic of Uzbekistan and the Central Executive Committee of the ME.

The first round results indicate that following the strong competition of political parties, candidates remained in a tie in 39 constituencies. The second round decided between them, and 3,960,000 voters, or 79.7% of the total number of voters registered to vote, participated in this second round. Thus, 135 deputies were elected by voters and 15 were by the Conference of the Ecological Movement. So these are 150 MPs who sit in the Legislative Chamber.

The distribution of seats is as follows: 53 for the Movement of entrepreneurs and businessmen – Liberal Democratic Party; 32 for the People’s Democratic Party of Uzbekistan; 31 for the Democratic Party of Uzbekistan “Milly Tiklanich”; 19 for socialdémocratique Party “Adolat”; 15 for the Ecological Movement.

It is found that 33 MPs, or 22% of the 150 MPs are women and 47 deputies, or 31.3% of former members were re-elected.

The elections to the Legislative Chamber of the Parliament took place in accordance with international democratic standards and principles laid down by the Constitution and the electoral laws of the Republic of Uzbekistan. No violation of election-related rules in the electoral districts were reported. This is supported by the many national and foreign observers (including the two signatories of the brief). The presence of international observers contributed to the transparency of the electoral process. Experts are from 36 countries (Germany, France, Japan, USA, China, Korea, Russia, Spain etc).

In addition, four international organizations – the Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR) of the OSCE, the Executive Committee of the CIS, the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) and the Organization of the Islamic Conference (OIC) sent observers.

Representatives of political parties also observed the elections. In addition, the election was followed by more than 500 representatives of the national media and over 200 foreign media representatives. International observers monitored the vote in 1446 polling stations corresponding to all regions of the republic, without exception. Observers from foreign countries and various international organizations said in interviews that the parliamentary elections were well organized and took place in accordance with the national legislation in compliance with international democratic principles, transparency and the opening.

The many citizens of Uzbekistan who voted have shown once again their belief and their willingness to follow the path chosen for the construction of a democratic state of law. The designation, internally, 15 green deputies is a special feature but not a sprain to the democratic principle in that the environment is a priority and that their number represents only a tenth of the room.